Blog 26 – Clive’s Country Chronicles

The second Sussex blog from the Cumbrian Chronicler before he again flies north.

Published 11 March 2017

 

March is now here and hopefully the Spring will bring some good walking weather. In the meantime here are two more of my recent country walks.

 

24 January; Keymer to the Chattri Memorial

In January we had several days of hard frost when the ground was solid and the sun shone all day. On this afternoon I set out from Underhill Lane near Keymer to walk to the Chattri Memorial for Indian soldiers who died in Brighton after being injured fighting in France during the Great War.

The path up the downs to Keymer Post is one that I have walked several times but it is always enjoyable with good views over your shoulder of Mid-Sussex.

25-5-looking-down-on-mid-sussex

From there I followed two high level tracks towards the coast to reach the Memorial. There was an odd buzzing sound as I approached but once the drone photographer had moved away it was really peaceful and quiet in the relatively warm sunshine.  A perfect chance to pause and reflect on the young men and their colleagues who travelled half way across the world to defend Western Europe.

25-6-chattri-memorial

More information can be found at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chattri,_Brighton.

 

 07 February; Plumpton Green

Plumpton Green is about 4 miles on foot from home and you can walk virtually the whole way off-road with a choice of paths taking in common land, bridleways and the occasional field. It is also home to the next railway station down the line giving a convenient ride home should the weather deteriorate.

25-7-winter-fields

It was a lovely sunny morning and for the most part the paths were firm. I was within half25-8-cross-the-style a mile of the village centre when I came across a bridge over a stream with a style at the end of it.  Although the weather had not been particularly wet the stream had overflowed and whichever way I crossed the style I was going to wade through a puddle that was well over ankle deep.

Much as I like the village, it was not that important to reach it so I turned back and looked for alternative routes. I found a bridleway that took me to the Polish War Memorial where I sat and ate my lunch.  I then toyed with walking down the road to the village but the moment had passed and I followed a footpath across a series of fields to take me back to Ditchling Common and then home.

25-9-ponies-on-the-common

25-10-graffham-stepsA Chance to Contribute

Wherever I walk I appreciate the paths, gates, styles and bridges and I now have an opportunity to give something back as I have joined the West Sussex Public Right of Way Rangers who voluntarily work on projects across the county. I recently spent a day rebuilding a flight of steps on a steep section of path on the South Downs.

It was a two day task and I was not available for the second day so I am looking forward to visiting the area soon to see the finished project. If you enjoy the countryside and have some time to spare why not see how you can help in your area?

Finally for now …

Despite not publishing a Cumbrian blog for several months, I hear that they continue to attract interest from all over the world, which is extremely gratifying and hopefully if you’ve never done it before, I’ve encouraged you to put on the walking boots and (safely) explore the countryside around you.

That’s all from me for now; I’m visiting Buckinghamshire shortly, an area I don’t know well and it may be that I discover some more gems there.  As ever, thanks for reading; Clive clocking off!!

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Clive's Cumbrian Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

