I said never again …

… but then I got offered another book signing …

As those of you who follow my blog regularly will know, my first book signing experience wasn’t positive. When I arrived in the town a few miles from home, I tried not to judge the shop by its seedy appearance or the lack of hot water in the ladies or the non-flushing toilet however when the owner demanded my entire commission, I declared I’d never venture into the world of signings again.

That was last year and I’ve had so many positive experiences with since then, that my faith in human nature has been restored a little, so whenimg_20161214_112845668 my publisher told me that a local pub wanted to offer me the opportunity of a signing day, I decided to go and see what they had in mind.

I met Ben, the manager at The Block and Gasket in Burgess Hill, West Sussex.

When I asked how much commission he was planning to take, he looked horrified and said I was a local author who would hopefully bring in a few customers, so he was happy with that.

The rest is history. The place was bedecked with festive trappings and looked very welcoming.  I had a lovely lunch, met some nice people and enjoyed the company of friends, old and new who came along to support me.

Oh yes, and I sold a few books too!

Huge thank you to the team at The Block and Gasket.

http://www.theblockandgasketburgesshill.co.uk/

So the moral of the tale is not to be put off by one poor experience. Would I do it again … yes, of course I would.

And a very Merry Christmas to all my lovely virtual friends!

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I said never again …

  1. kelleysdiy says:

    Wonderful! I am so glad you put yourself out there….love your insight!

Leave a Reply

