The Five Minute Followers

Whilst I’m not a natural social medial creature, I realised that as an author with books to sell, I needed to get involved.

Over recent times I’ve built up a bit of a following on the ‘T’ thing.  If someone is kind enough to follow me, I follow them back providing their page isn’t emblazoned with bits of their body.

Now my question is this. Why do some users of the aforementioned ‘T’ thing follow for a day or two and then disappear as soon as I follow back?  Here are a few theories:

  • They want to build up their followers but don’t want their feed clogged with other people’s posts.
  • They want to appear extremely popular by having far more followers than people they’re following.
  • They have far too much time on their hands.

Whatever the reason, isn’t it a bit counterproductive?  Or are most people more altruistic than me and continue to follow?

I have to confess to having very little time to spend on social media currently so it is highly likely that some are slipping through my net. However when I do manage to inadvertently find un-followers, I derive enormous satisfaction from removing them.

Therefore I would like to say  a huge thank you to all the five minute followers for giving me an angst outlet!18.6 Leng How from The Edge

And … relax with calming photo.

PS: Apologies for not engaging with all the blogs I normally enjoy.

A few aspects of life have been getting in the way but I’ve promised myself a huge catch up as things return to normal.

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Five Minute Followers

  1. Terry Tyler says:

    I believe it’s a combination of all the reasons, but mostly the first. For you, the answer is to increase your followers by so many that you neither notice nor care who unfollows you. And those who play this game are not worth having as followers anyway, so you haven’t lost anything.

    Aside from those few you meet who become genuine online friends and connections, Twitter is mostly a numbers game; the more people see your stuff, the more likely you are to get blog hits/sales/whatever! In other words, don’t sweat it!

  2. kelleysdiy says:

    Don’t you just hate it when life throws you curve balls!

Leave a Reply

