‘Loved Your Book,’ she whispered behind her hand …

Dear Reader

What do the following comments have in common?

‘Fantastic novel, loved it from start to finish. Can’t wait for number 3! Hope you’re already working on it!’

‘You’ve done it again, written another great work of fiction. Looking forward to the next one.  What a furtive imagination you have.’

‘I couldn’t put Evil Echoes down. I think it is even better than your first book.  What will you give us next?’

They’re all complimentary and want another book; fantastic!

What else?

They were all sent to me via email, text or private message; not so fantastic.

I’m delighted and frustrated at the same time. I rejoice in the knowledge that you love my stories but sad that only you and I will ever know!

To date, I think about a tenth of my feedback is in the public domain.

To put it bluntly, without publicity, my current book won’t sell enough copies for the publisher to consider financing my next novel.

So on behalf of all writers, can I make a request?

If you enjoy reading a book, don’t just tell the author, please tell the world!!

Put your comment on every social platform with which you engage so that word spreads far and wide and hopefully your favourite authors will sell enough copies to continue to be offered publishing contracts!!!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Julie-Haiselden/e/B00UEPDUJ4

Yours faithfully

 

A Grateful Author 

 

PS:  If you hate my work then a private message is fine.

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘Loved Your Book,’ she whispered behind her hand …

  1. Terry Tyler says:

    I love your honesty about the publisher thing. If that happens, you can always self publish – no pressure then!!!

    You can always ask those people to review. I used to, a lot, when that happened with my first few books. Make it easy for them, send them the link so all they have to do is click on and log in, and stress that it doesn’t have to be a proper critique, and just a line to say they liked it is fine 🙂

  2. jhbooksblog says:

    Thanks for your feedback Terry, always welcome! As a novice author, I was going to go-it-alone but having got a publisher who was prepared to offer me a favourable contract, I decided to go along that route. If they don’t want my next offering, my eldest child is confident he can assist his rather technologically-challenged mother. It hasn’t helped that Amazon are advertising the eBook and paperback in different places so that’s an added hurdle to overcome. Very much looking forward to starting your latest book which is waiting on my Kindle as my Christmas treat. Good to hear from you.

  3. milliethom says:

    A great post, Julie, and I can identify with you feelings here. My books are self published, so I don’t face the publisher issues that you do, but reviews are still vital to self published authors. I’ve had several ‘non-reviewers’ saying they loved my books and can’t wait for the third. It’s lovely to know they think that but… Well, all authors do need reviews.

    • jhbooksblog says:

      Thank you, Millie. Upon receipt of an email, I now send a reply thanking them with the link to my Amazon page, where there is a button to leave a review, so they have to click just twice. Still an uphill struggle though! I expect they are the same people who don’t use the village shop and then complain that it’s closed down!! Oh well …

      • milliethom says:

        I believe that few people actually think about reviewing – or the need for it. After all, they aren’t all involved with writing or have blogs or are on Twitter. Others would just say they wouldn’t know what to write. I suppose some of the lengthy, detailed reviews they see on Amazon might put them off, in that respect. Perhaps we should let people know that a simple sentence will do. A little prompt regarding where to write a review, as you have now done, will certainly point people in the right direction. I hope you see some improvement, anyway!

Leave a Reply

