How Soon Is Too Soon?

If I’m honest, once bonfire night is out of the way, even before Remembrance Sunday, I start thinking about … it.

I begin to look for signs that others feel the same way; the odd bit of tinsel, a sprig of plastic mistletoe or a string of fairy lights. I try to resist until I find a kindred spirit but this year I got caught out big time.

Mr JH was busy in the garden, or so I thought.  I sneaked up to the attic and clambered overimg-20161103-wa0002 all the detritus we’re saving for ‘just in case’, plus several boxes that my now grown-up children have insisted cannot be thrown away but have no room to accommodate in their own homes.

With a small squeal of glee I espied the object of my desire – the Christmas box.  It took a while but I finally liberated Robin.  Along with him, there was my fourth best set of fairy lights which I always put in a large glass bowl on the coffee table.

Horror above horrors, I heard Mr JH coming up the stairs.  I had no time to think of a convincing lie so had to emerge from the attic before I got sprung.  I hastily shoved Robin behind my back and found a crafty hiding place for the light box which I think I got away with …

but then again, maybe not. After being scolded like a five year old, I was told firmly that Robin cannot grace the lounge until December  …

img_20161111_090540then came my flash of genius!

I asked if it wasn’t Christmas, why  had Mr JH already consumed two boxes of these?

Hah!! He had no answer.

If anyone is interested there are actually forty-two days until the day itself. So plenty of time left to panic that you’ll never be ready.   img_20161111_091632885

Oh yes and this is Robin who’s currently working his way down the stairs.

If you think it’s too soon for the trappings of Christmas, you’re probably throwing things at this post, so please accept my apologies for behaving like a small excited child.

For the rest of you, maybe I can be the first to wish you Merry Christmas or if you prefer, Happy Holiday.

PS: Haven’t got my sprouts on yet …

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

