Carping over Coffee

… Or, another in my occasional series looking at life’s small vexations.

IMG_6950

I’ve had a grumble-free time of late and can only find two things with which to take indignant exception today.

My latest grumble is the word ‘hack’. This seems to be taking the place of ‘tip’ when describing a useful suggestion.

To the best of my knowledge a ‘hack’ is a third rate journalist. The article I was reading suggested it was appropriate to clean the oven with an ‘ingenious hack’.  The mind boggled at the prospect and I worried that if I did manage to stuff a journalist, however third rate, into my oven I would probably get into quite a lot of trouble.

My other gripe this week is a social media transgression.  If I re-tweet you, the appropriate response is sift through my page until you find something palatable enough to reciprocate.  Sending a profuse thank you message with a promotional link to your product is pretty bad form and really not playing the game.

That will do for now.  Back soon.  May even find a recipe to thrust you all with next time.

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carping over Coffee

  1. Terry Tyler says:

    People who don’t use Twitter properly really piss me off. Everyone has to learn stuff, but people who do this tend to be the type who don’t even try to find out how!

    I can’t believe the amount of people who just thank me for my RT on hashtag blog share days, without RTing back. I don’t want their thanks, I don’t know them from Adam, I am RTing them because their post looked of vague interest (I don’t RT stuff that I don’t think looks interesting), and because I want one back. End of. I think the next person who does this to me is going to get this tweet back

    This is how to use the hashtag blog share days on Twitter: http://terrytyler59.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/making-twitter-blog-share-days-work-for.html

    And that’s all!

Leave a Reply

