Returns, Reactions, Resolutions, Reflections

As you may know, I’ve been ‘Up North’ for six months so that Mr JH could walk the fells and I could scribble; now it was time to return to Sussex.  IMG_20160817_131801

I thought of the people I was leaving behind; the friendships I had made, the activities I’d participated in and the church I’d become a part of. The ladies from the Mothers’ Union, the parents, children and helpers at the toddler group. The fabulous fells …

And okay I’ll admit it, I didn’t want to leave next door’s cat. Pepsi and I became firm friends and whilst mindful that she wasn’t mine, we spent many happy hours together in my garden while her ‘mum’ was at work.

It wasn’t all bad of course; I was looking forward to being reacquainted with my full length mirror, tumble dryer and of course my family and southern friends.

We arrived back on Monday afternoon and to be honest I felt a bit flat.

Sky cocked up our broadband reconnection, so that didn’t help my mood and we will be without it for a further two weeks, making four weeks in total. (So not sure how I’m going to publish this.)

Headache all day Wednesday and feeling very sorry for myself.  Then Thursday morning, it all changed.

img_20160915_163825659_hdrThe sun was shining, my garden looked lovely – apart from a slightly parched lawn – and my house no longer smelled like it had been abandoned.

Since March I had survived with a quarter of my clothes, a third of my kitchen equipment and minimal makeup, so a purge was in order and I made a determined start, filling two charity bags in less than an hour.

I went into town, bumped into all sorts of people I knew and got honked at in the street as acquaintances drove by. Neighbours and friends seemed genuinely pleased to see me.

Would I do it again, yes in a heartbeat. However, I have many things currently to anchor me to Sussex. Nonetheless, a little bit of my heart has remained in Cumbria.

And as a pure indulgence, one more fell photograph …

13435573_10153816693225889_761524844597350131_n[1]

PS: No I’m not, it was a very narrow gap!!

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Returns, Reactions, Resolutions, Reflections

  1. Terry Tyler says:

    I love barren places, hills, the countryside and (oddly) a little bit of roughing it, so I think I’d have stayed in Cumbria!!!!! I enjoyed those posts and pictures muchly 😉

Leave a Reply

