Bloggers’ Bench with Julie Haiselden

As you may know, I’m currently bereft of broadband however I can achieve an intermittent signal if I sit on the worktop in the kitchen with the laptop on the window sill. Therefore from this precarious position I am (hopefully) able to re-blog this new  feature – Bloggers’ Bench.

Welcome to the Bloggers’ Bench

Bench Picture 2

Let’s sit down on the bench next to Julie Haiselden and ask a few questions about her blog: jhbooksblog

Julie

 

Welcome Julie, can you tell us a little about yourself, and your blog?

Yes, certainly; I’m a former NHS medical secretary/practice administrator and I live mostly in Sussex but part of my heart belongs to Cumbria.

I am a bit of a Luddite and knew nothing about blogging, until my eldest child insisted I should be dragging myself into the 21st Century if I didn’t want to get left behind in this increasingly technical world.

How long have you been blogging for?

My son set up my blog towards the end of 2014; a few months before the release of my first book.

What inspired you to start a blog, and why did you choose your chosen subject?

The subject was to be the trials and tribulations of a novice novelist and the pitfalls surrounding publication. I had heard some horror stories of people parting with thousands of pounds to get their work into print and having done a lot of research on the subject, I wanted to pass on what I had learned.

However, once I started the blog, other topics sprang into existence and my ‘Supper on a Shoestring’ seems to go down well. I also feature guest bloggers and reviews.

I have a general heading ‘Life’ so anyone and everyone can smile at the scrapes I get myself into by my complete inability to ever say ‘NO’ to anything I’m asked to do!

Is this your first/only blog?

Goodness me yes, I wouldn’t have the patience or time to devote to more than one.

How much time do you spend on your blog per week?

It depends if I’ve written it myself or if I’m featuring a guest. The latter takes very little time, just a brief introduction but the former can take a while. I would say between one and five hours a week. However if I’m writing then it is considerably less.

Where Julie Blogs

This is the Haiselden Hub

What’s the best bit about being a blogger?

Connecting with the whole world through my laptop.

What’s the most frustrating thing?

Being a terrible technophobe, it took me over a year to find out how to set up a static page and a further three months to add my categories to the top ribbon. I see some bloggers’ sites and I’m green with envy.

Just recently I’ve discovered how to add a Twitter feed so that my last post appears on the right hand side of my static page. (This is probably an ‘ah bless’ moment for all of you who know what you’re doing.)

Do you find that bloggers support one another?

Most definitely. I’ve had fantastic encouragement from other bloggers; I hesitate to name names as I’m sure to offend someone with an unintentional omission. As with the writing community, the blogging community are on the whole a very supportive group of people.

Do you tell people when you meet them, or friends and family that you are a blogger?

I try to drop it into the conversation if it’s appropriate but I don’t ram it down their throats as that might encourage people to cross over the road when they see me approaching. However I think most of my contacts know that I blog.

Can you remember your very first post?

I suspect it was something very simple and bland, as I was terrified of trying to appear self-important. As my grandmother used to say, ‘no-one likes a show-off.’

What do you wish someone had told you about blogging at the start of your journey?

Don’t expect to gain thousands of followers overnight. Keep at it and steadily build up your profile. Support other bloggers and many will reciprocate.

Is there any advice that you would like to give people who are thinking about becoming a blogger, and those just starting out?

Go for it but don’t blog for the sake of it. Make sure you have something to say that will be interesting to others.

What’s next for your blog, any big ambitions for it?

My next post will probably be a pictorial journey of my time in Cumbria. I will be very sad to leave and hope to stay in touch with the lovely friends I’ve made here.

Many have my contact details and are particularly following my regular guest blogger, Clive, as he captures the Wainwright fells. In fact his blogs often attract more interest than mine, so I’m thinking of banning him.

Apart from your blog where else can we find you on the internet?

You can find me over at :-

@juliehaiselden
Facebook
Mumsnet
Whispering Stories – Meet the Team

 I would just like to say a very big thank you to Julie for giving us an insight in her blogging life, and we wish her lots of success for the future.

 Posts straight to email via Bloglovin – Like us on Facebook – Follow us on Twitter

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

