Clive’s Cumbrian Chronicles – Blog 18

Northern Fells here I come!!

Published 07 August 2016

 

This was a week of mixed weather and varied walks. For the first time I walked some of the fells from the Northern area and very pleasant they were, particularly as the heather is now in full bloom.

 

29 July; Allen Crags and Rossett Pike via Langstrath

These two Wainwrights were still waiting to be climbed. I could have walked from Wasdale Head but I have recently had two good walks from Stonethwaite so I drove round there to walk via Langstrath and up by Allencrags Gill.  After heavy rain the previous day the becks were full and the waterfalls were magnificent.

  18.1 Waterfall

Despite a bold green line on my map the path along the western/northern side of Langstrath Beck was vague and intermittent, particularly across the boggy stretches and as I approached Allencrags Gill it disappeared altogether despite a couple of piles of stones. I hacked up the steep bank to the top of Tongue Head.  From there a very good path took me to the shelter at Esk Hause and the short climb to the top of Allen Crags.

Although the day was hot, visibility was good and I took several photos of the surrounding high fells and Angle Tarn.

18.2 Angle Tarn

From Allen Crags it was an easy stroll to Rossett Pike where I sat with good views of the Langdale Pikes, Rossett Gill and Mickleden leading to Langdale.

I returned to Langstrath via the Stake Pass which has a high quality gravel path zig-zagging its way down. From there I followed the Cumbria Way back to Stonethwaite pausing briefly as Blackmoss Pot where people were swimming in the sunshine.

The whole walk was around 12 miles and took over seven hours. I slept well that night.

 

31 July; Cycling to Braystones and St Bees18.3 St Bees beach

An afternoon ride to the seaside which included a ride along the sand. As you can see from the photo there was plenty of room on the beach even though it was 4pm on a fine Sunday afternoon!

 

18.4 Slight Side01 Aug; Slight Side

Slight Side is close to Sca Fell but not on the route that I used when I climbed that fell in April. The walk from Eskdale was ok with a steady climb towards the end.

The summit itself was rocky and required a bit of a scramble to get to the top.

 

03 Aug; Binsey

The day was wet and windy with heavy mist on the higher fells. I therefore deferred the planned walk and took the opportunity to climb this fell which stands away from the rest of the Northern Fells.

18.5 Binsey

I was lucky in that I managed the walk before the worst of the heavy rain arrived although it was extremely windy. With the heather in full bloom this is a charming little fell, climbable by all and in good weather it provides excellent views.

 

04 Aug; Ullock Pike, Longside Edge, Carl Side and Dodd

This was the walk that I had planned for the previous day. A seven mile circuit from Dodd Wood car park near Bassenthwaite which included a two mile ridge walk over the first three Wainwrights.  The weather forecast was much better although showers were predicted for the afternoon.

In the event the showers never came although the clouds hung at around 600m all day meaning that the ridge walk was done in heavy mist but the good path was easy to follow. Before and after that stretch the walk was delightful following forest paths and heather covered slopes.

 

I love to see dogs being able to run free on the fells searching for scents but if they are not properly controlled they can cause death and severe distress to sheep. Here is a stark message which was posted on Binsey, presumably by an exasperated farmer.

 18.8 sign

So … the larder is full, the beds are made and the house is clean because next week, our daughter and her family will be staying with us. I have planned several low-level walks that I hope will appeal to our grandsons and will let you know how we get on next time.

I was pleased to receive two more donations this week for my appeal for The Lake District Search and Mountain Rescue Association, taking me to over two thirds of my target! If you would like to support me, the link is:

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/ClivesCumbrianChronicles

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Clive's Cumbrian Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

