The Final Proofs

So … they’ve arrived! The proofs for my Victorian thriller ‘Evil Echoes’ are now safely ensconced in a file on my laptop. I’ve been looking forward to getting them for a few weeks and finally the email arrived on Thursday evening.

You would have thought that Friday morning would have seen me up with the lark and raring to get on with the last edit. Oh no! Procrastination set in big time.

I played around with social media and found loads of pictures to add and people to thank for following me. I answered at least three emails. I even did the breakfast washing up (yes I know!)

Then of course I had to make several phone calls and send copious messages telling virtually everyone I’ve ever met of that the final proofs had arrived. Had to fit in coffee and brioche as well.

The house we are temporarily renting is being sold by the landlord and the agent wanted to return to take some pictures, having valued it two days previously. So that involved hiding all the detritus I had managed to scatter around the place in the meantime.

However by two o’clock I had run out of excuses. I finally opened the file!  As usual of course, once I’m in work mode, I can’t think of anything else.

So apart from going to church yesterday morning (where I might have mentioned to a few people that my final proofs were through) I have been glued to the laptop. Mr JH has put my dinner in front of me each evening; what a treasure he is at such times!

Up to Chapter Four and so far I’ve found someone who has managed to walk through a locked door and another who has stood up twice without sitting down in between. A third is clearly psychic as they know something they haven’t been told. Have found one extraneous word and several questions regarding the inconsistent use of the apostrophe.

What pray are you doing bashing out a blog, I hear you cry.  That is indeed a very good question; to which I have no sensible answer.  Back to it!

PS: I don’t really have a suitable picture to catch your eye so this is one from a walk I did before the arrival of the now infamous proofs!

IMG_20160729_135545876

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

