Clive’s Cumbrian Chronicles – Blog 17

Walking Close to Home

Published 31 July 2016

 

This has been a week of lower walks closer to home but still with plenty of pleasant surprises. I also had to get a tyre replaced because it had a puncture that could not be repaired.  Not unexpected when you bear in mind some of the places that I drive and park.

I know that I have told you before that I am not here to purely ‘peak bag’ but….     Last week when we were in Glenridding I purchased a couple of maps, one of which has all the Wainwrights numbered with a table underneath to record our climbs.

17. Wall chart

 

23 July; Dent

Dent is our local fell and the first real climb for Coast to Coast walkers after they leave St Bees. The summit is visible from our rear windows and it is walkable from home.  If it was sited a couple of miles further east it would be in the National Park and Wainwright would have included it in his pictorial guides as it meets his requirements as to height and rise from the surrounding area.

The forecast for the day was heavy rain from lunchtime so I went out early, walking past17.1 Egremont from Dent Longlands Lake in Cleator and then up the western slope to the pile of stones that mark the summit. There are suggestions that on a clear day six countries can be viewed from Dent; England, Scotland, The Isle of Man, Wales, Northern Ireland and The Republic of Ireland.  I only managed the first three.

I could of course see Egremont which is beyond the trees in the picture. I phoned Julie to ask if she could see me waving at her; she could not.

I followed the Coast to Coast path down to Nannycatch Gate and walked around Uldale to return to Egremont in time for lunch.

 

25 July; Great Borne

I climbed Great Borne in mist earlier in the year and I used the steep grass slope from near Floutern Tarn. On this occasion I walked from Bowness Knot car park up to Brown How and then followed the even steeper path alongside the waterfall up to the top.  A far more attractive and interesting climb but it requires great care as it is eroded in places.

The day was overcast so the views were not perfect but they were better than the few yards of visibility that I had last time.

 

27 July; Devoke Water 

If you drive from Eskdale Green to Ulpha you travel along a raised narrow road across the huge open space that is Birker Fell. This is the home of Devoke Water which is described as the Lake District’s largest tarn. 17.4 Devoke Water

It is a remote and peaceful place. The weather was warm and breezy with high scattered clouds which allowed plenty of warm sunshine.

We followed a walk I found at http://www.stridingedge.net/walks/54234/. There had been heavy rain the previous evening which made it wet underfoot and challenging to cross the becks but the feeling of remoteness was wonderful.  We saw just three people during our walk and they were all at a distance.

Generally the climbing was gentle although there was an exhilarating scramble to reach the summit of Yoadcastle. At times the paths were vague or non-existent but with the Tarn in view most of the time we were never going to get lost or get into danger.  A good day’s walk.

17.5 Devoke waterfall

 

Thank you to those of you who have already joined my appeal for The Lake District Search and Mountain Rescue Association. If you have yet to do so the link is:

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/ClivesCumbrianChronicles

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Clive's Cumbrian Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

