Supper on a Shoestring – Pork with Mushrooms and Cream

Pork with Mushrooms

I didn’t think I could bring in this dish for under £1 a head however, a special offer at the local supermarket meant I was able to buy pork steaks (pack of twelve for £6) for 50p each.

I had half a pot of single cream left over from the previous day and also some mushrooms. The basic ingredients therefore dictated the choice of recipe;

My Ingredients:

  • Four pork steaksIMG_20160722_174620
  • Eight mushrooms
  • One large onion
  • Red pepper (about a quarter)
  • Clove of garlic
  • Dash of tomato ketchup
  • Splash of single cream or crème fresh
  • Tarragon (fresh or dried)
  • Parsley (fresh or dried)
  • Chicken stock cube
  • Seasoning to taste
  • Vegetables found lurking in fridge (potatoes, carrots and curly kale).

My Method:

  • Put peeled potatoes in steamer, add other vegetables about ten minutes later
  • Dice mushrooms (after cleaning), pepper, onion, garlic
  • Heat a small amount of oil in frying pan and fry off diced ingredients
  • Add herbs and tomato ketchup
  • Add steaks
  • Add stock cube and a little water
  • About three minutes before vegetables are cooked, add cream to steak pan and bring to gentle simmer.

Quick and easy meal to make after work and can be cooked in the time it takes to steam the potatoes (roughly twenty to twenty-five minutes depending on size).

NB: I might try it with pasta or couscous next time.

I have a bit of a risotto obsession having had it as a starter at a wedding recently, so am working on some variations to share soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Supper on a Shoestring – Pork with Mushrooms and Cream

  1. Tania says:

    A great budget risotto appears on agirlcalledjack blog, I linked to it and tried my own version here: http://carsandcooking.co.uk/posh-pork-and-rice/

    The red wine makes it quite unusual but very earthy and tasty.

Leave a Reply

