Please post a picture of your patio …

I used to  find pictures of other people’s supper slightly disturbing as I worried about their gastrointestinal systems and cholesterol levels.  I shivered at the sight of surgically removed body parts and cringed at collections of children’s extracted teeth.

That all changed last week. Until then I was a creature of habit; I would wake at six o’clock on a good day (I’m a part-time insomniac) and turn on my phone. I would look at emails and social media in that order. I still do the first but since last Friday, I’ve stated to engage in displacement activities to avoid the second.

Usually by mid-morning I’ve psyched myself up to look at  social media and the latest EU-related lamentations.

In mitigation, some have posted pleas for friends to stop, before failure becomes a self-fulfilling prophesy.  To others, such posts are the trigger for another diatribe: ‘I’m entitled to have my say and if you don’t want to engage, you can scroll down.’

Yes that’s true, in the same way that I can move to a different railway carriage if a person is playing loud music and refuses to stop, even when asked politely to do so by other passengers.

Whilst free speech is the right of those of us lucky enough to live  in a democracy, I’m unsure of the rationale of repeatedly haranguing friends.

Which is why, after a week of lectures, I find myself longing to see a post which features an enormous pork chop with a perilously high pile of potatoes on a dinner plate, an appendix sitting in a jar on the mantelpiece or a beautifully manicured lawn.

Yesterday I turned my phone off and went for a walk; this gave me an excuse to post another picture of the Cumbrian fells which were there long before 23 June and will be there long after this episode is consigned to history.

IMG_20160618_091216372_HDR

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Please post a picture of your patio …

  1. Terry Tyler says:

    You Piscean escapist you!!! And espcially the comment at the end; the more you know about history the more you realise that everything is just cyclical. Very good piece, I agree entirely. The best way to avoid this is not to express your political views on social media. If you do, you invite comment. It’s a bit like people who publish their books on public sites then complain that not everyone likes them; yes, we have this wonderful thing called the internet, but exposing your whole self comes with a price.

Leave a Reply

