Clive’s Cumbrian Chronicles – Blog 11

Blog 11 – Half way through our stay

Published 19 June 2016

 

We are in Cumbria from mid-March to mid-September so we are now half way through our stay. The time has gone quickly and with several visitors due in July and August I am sure the second half will pass quicker still.  It is now time to get in all the climbs that I still want to do.

Our life in Egremont

Although these blogs centre on my fell walks the people of Egremont and the surrounding area have played a large part in making us feel at home. Life is more relaxed here and the service we have received in shops and restaurants has been first class.

In particular we have been grateful for the interest shown and walk suggestions given by the congregation of St Mary and St Michael in Egremont. I found out last weekend that some of them read this blog increasing the pressure on me to get things right.

The Lake District Search and Mountain Rescue Association

I have set up a Just Giving page for the local Mountain Rescue teams. I know that there are probably more deserving causes in the world (unless you get into difficulty out on the fells) but this is currently dear to my heart although I hope that I never need them.  If you enjoy my blogs then please consider giving a pound or two:

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/ClivesCumbrianChronicles

 

09 Jun; Whiteside, Hopegill Head and Grisedale Pike

11.1 Whiteside ridge in mist

When I was on Grasmoor I had a good view of these peaks so I drove to Lanthwaite to take a closer look. It was another hot day but the clouds were hanging on the summits so there was very little to see.  I followed a clear path along the ridge of Whiteside with the cliffs to my right and a grassy slope to my left but as I approached Hopegill Head the left hand side also became steep and I was looking at a narrow rocky ridge disappearing into the mist.

As it turned out the way was not too difficult and I soon reached the summit of Hopegill Head which was eerie in the mist. I was welcomed by hundreds of tiny flies who were delighted to have some sweaty flesh to dine on.  The next day I purchased some insect repelling spray.

Although visibility was still poor there was a clear path to Grisedale Head which was11.2 Whiteside ridge after the mist cleared confirmed by a compass reading. I had planned to return via Coledale Hause and Gasgale Gill but the mist eased a little so I returned the way I came so that I could see the views that I had missed.

14 June;  Hardknott Roman Fort

11.3 Hardknott Fort

We were looking for a way to the Fort without walking or driving up the road and the Ordnance Survey map suggested that we could take a zigzag route which included a footpath through a farm. A sign on the farm gate directed us to one side “to avoid going through the farm” and we found that it sent us on another path away from our planned route.  We walked on for another mile or so then went up a short but steep bracken covered slope to take us to the Fort. We managed to find a comfortable way back that avoided both the road and the farm.

15 June; Causey Pike, Scar Crags, Outerside, Stile End and Barrow

11.4 Stoneycroft Gill

This was another circular walk in the North-Western fells which bordered on my recent walks around Grasmoor and Grisedale Pike. I parked near the disused mine at Uzzicar after a lengthy drive round via the A66.

Every climb is different and the short hike up Causey Pike is one of the best. The rapidly growing bracken is making everywhere so green and the path is well built.  At the top there was a scramble section to make me feel like I had scaled a proper mountain.  From there the walk along the ridge of Scar Crags was easy with good views, particularly of Grisedale Pike which looked magnificent from this direction.

Sail was directly ahead but I had climbed that from another direction two weeks ago so I followed my planned route to Outerside although it was disconcerting to be losing so much height before noon. The smaller peaks of Outerside and Stile End have merit and Barrow was particularly interesting with its great views of Keswick, the Skiddaw Range and Cat Bells.     The photo is of Stoneycroft Gill which runs below Causey Pike.

16 June; Robinson and Hindsgarth

After a visit from the refrigerator engineer I went out later than usual. It was another day

11.5 Buttermere Church

when a shower was likely but in the event it stayed dry with some pleasant sunshine.

I set off from Buttermere Church and the initial path was lovely as it wound up through the bracken and then some easy gullies to High Snockrigg. After that the climb was less

11.6 High Crag and High Stile

attractive across the large soggy bowl of Buttermere Moss and up the grassy ridge that is the top of Robinson.  From Robinson I walked round Littledale Edge and up Hindscarth.  Good views all round including this shot of High Crag and High Stile across Buttermere.

Thank you for reading and hope to see you again next week!

 

 

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Clive's Cumbrian Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

