Clive’s Cumbrian Chronicles – Blog 10

What to Wear?

Published 12 June 2016

Clothing

I promised a few words on clothing and in my research I found some guides including one on the Walks Around Britain website. I hope they will not mind if I post a link here because they say it better than I can:

http://www.walksaroundbritain.co.uk/beginnersguide

As you will see and hear they stress the need for good boots. If you have never owned a pair of walking boots you may consider this a high cost for a few days’ walking.  Do not fear, once you have them you will use them for afternoon walks in the country or the park and in wet or snowy weather.

In recent years I have tended to buy boots costing around £40.00 and provided they fit10.1 boots for clothing section well, they are fine for occasional walking.  For the last few years I have kept two pairs; a lightweight pair for summer and a leather pair for wet and winter use.  The leather pair recently split and I was persuaded by the salesman to spend £80.00 (reduced from around £120.00) on a new leather pair and I have not looked back.  They fit well and the grip gives me so much more confidence on bare rocks.

And while we are on footwear I have to confess to forgetting to take my walking socks with me last Friday! I tightened the bootlaces over my ordinary thin socks and got away with it but definitely not something to be recommended.

03 June; Grasmoor, Crag Hill, Sail, Wandope and Whiteless Pike

Grasmoor stands imperious over the junction of the valleys of Lorton, Buttermere and Loweswater and I have been eying it up for some weeks. I climbed up from Rannerdale via Lad Hows on a warm and sunny day and made the summit in a little over an hour arriving just after 1pm.

I ate my lunch overlooking Crummock Water watching a large number of parascenders10.2 Grasmoor etc Whiteless Pike who were making their way above the Loweswater fells and Buttermere.

From Grasmoor I planned to walk along the wide ridges to Crag Hill and Wandope before descending via the attractive Whiteless Pike to Rannerdale.   Arriving at the top of Crag Hill I was amazed to see how close I was to Keswick.  Sail was a just a quick down and up scramble away so off I went, returning to Crag Hill on my way to Wandope.  From there I had a lovely climb down over the ridge of Whiteless Pike and a walk down Rannerdale back to the car.

04 June; Ennerdale Water by bike

10.3 Ennerdale WaterWe are just 8 miles from this end of Ennerdale Water so I can easily fit in a quick ride there and back.

06 June; Great End, Scafell Pike and Lingmell

Great End was by now the only one of the highest ten Wainwrights that I had not scaled so10.4 Great End from Sprinkling Tarn off I went on yet another hot and hazy morning. Wasdale Head is not the ideal start point for Great End but it is closer for me.  I climbed up to Sty Head and from there to Sprinkling Tarn which gave me a good view of the cliffs on the north side of Great End.  I followed the path to Esk Hause and then turned back on myself up to the top of Great End.

After taking in the hazy views and having a sandwich I then took the path up to Scafell 10.5 Plenty of company on Scafell PikePike. This was the first time that I had climbed it from Esk Hause and the final climb is a lot more exciting than the zig zag path up from the Corridor.  The summit was busy as usual. I sat for a while looking across Mickledore at Sca Fell and then walked down the zig zag path and across to Lingmell.

Lingmell looks very dramatic when seen from the path up to Sty Head but from Scafell Pike it seems insignificant. The summit cairn was easily reached but beyond it was a large attractive rocky area with good views down and across to Great Gable.

08 June; Nether Beck and Wastwater

Yet another lazy, hazy day. We walked along Nether Beck from Wastwater to look at the10.6 Nether Beck waterfall waterfalls followed by a leisurely stroll along the shore to Low Wood at the southern end of the lake.  For us an easy day but it was good to see various school and youth parties canoeing and enjoying the surroundings.

Next time, Whiteside, Hopegill Head and Grisedale Pike.

 

 

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Clive's Cumbrian Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

