Afternoon Tea with Ladies from the Mothers’ Union (and the Vicar of course …)

As those who follow my blog regularly will know, I’m the new girl in town. MyIMG_20160607_124139533 adopted home of Egremont in Cumbria is a wonderful place to be in summer when the sun shines. Not least because I’ve been made so welcome by the Mothers’ Union. This week was their 140th birthday celebration. This is a bit of background.

‘140 years of faithful Christian outreach to families of all faiths and none. Since 1876, when Mary Sumner first brought together parents in her own parish to build their confidence in bringing up their children in the Christian faith, we have grown to an organisation of over four million women – and men – in over 80 countries of the world.’

On Wednesday, Egremont MU celebrated with a birthday party to be proud of. Branch Leader Gerry Christmass and her happy band of helpers put together a wonderful afternoon for us all to enjoy. We were joined by Simon the Vicar and entertained by the IMG_20160607_141534299Tantony Ringers with anecdotal memories from some long standing MU members. In addition  there was a wonderful solo singing performance and to top it all off, a raffle and scrumptious tea.

I met some diverse and interesting people and was chatting to one of the musicians who gave me some examples of the local dialect. I was fascinated and wanted to know more, so did some research when I got home. This is apparently how the local hill farmers count their sheep:

yan = 1; tan =2; tether = 3; mether = 4, pimp = 5; sether = 6; hether = 7;hother =8; dother = 9; dick = 10; yan dick = 11; tan dick = 12;tether dick = 13; mether dick = 14; bumfit =15; yan bumfit 16; tan bumfit = 17; tether bumfit = 18; mether bumfit = 19 and gigot = 20 

(source: http://www.yantantether.com/about/what-does-yan-tan-tether-mean/)

I wasn’t at the event to promote my novel but when the guests started to arrive, one ladyIMG_20160607_152251465 had a copy which she asked me to sign. I was very happy to oblige and she then worked the room, showing it to anyone who was interested (and possibly a few that weren’t) so thank you very much, Shirley!

We cleared away cheerfully at the end of the afternoon and I for one, went home too full to want any dinner! A quintessentially English summer afternoon with great company, in a great cause and guess what – we plan to do it  again on Saturday at the church summer fete!

PS: I won a rose plant in the raffle which is now adorning my mantelpiece!

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Afternoon Tea with Ladies from the Mothers’ Union (and the Vicar of course …)

  1. Rosie Amber says:

    Love the sheep counting.

Leave a Reply

