Clive’s Cumbrian Chronicles – Blog 3

 

Sun, Rain and Snow

Published 06 April 2016

The week commencing 28 March had very mixed weather and as a result our walks were restricted. Bank Holiday Monday was dull and cold so we walked around Blengdale forest, on Wednesday we walked the river path south of Egremont and on Friday and Saturday we shopped and walked to the town as it rained non-stop both days.

However, on Tuesday and Thursday we had two interesting climbs as follows:

 

29 March; Haycock from Bowness Knott car park, Ennerdale

Julie was editing her third manuscript so I set off on my own for this lengthy climb which started with a flat walk of almost two miles along the shore and across the top of Ennerdale Water before I started to make any height. I was following a route suggested in Wainwright’s book on the Western Fells, following the tongue between Silvercove Beck and Deep Gill which ascended quite steeply through a pine plantation then through heather until I reached the craggy open fell.

The weather forecast suggested a chance of sleet at altitude and it was correct as aroundSnow on Haycock mid-day it started to snow. Initially I was excited as one of my hopes was to walk on a snow covered fell but the snow got heavier until all I could see was white.  After half an hour, with steep drops on either side, I decided to postpone the climb for another day.  I retraced my steps and apart from a short snow shower when I stopped for lunch the weather was good for my descent and once I reached the valley floor the top was bathed in sunshine!  How typical.

Haycock after the sky had clearedI will climb Haycock before we go home, either by this route or from Wasdale but I will not be upset if it does not snow on that occasion.

 

 

31 March; Middle Fell, Wasdale

In contrast to the rest of the week Thursday was a sunny and relatively warm day. We drove to Wasdale looking to climb Buckbarrow and, stamina permitting, Seatallan.  The anticipated path to Buckbarrow from the South West was not clear and after a short conversation with other walkers in the car park we decided to climb Middle Fell.  That transpired to be an excellent decision.

Although the climb was quite steep we quickly made height and we were rewarded withThe Scafells after the cloud lifted tremendous views of Wasdale Screes, the Scafells and Great Gable. Across Greendale, Seatallan looked like a grass covered dome whereas Middle Fell was craggy and very attractive.  After reaching the peak we followed the path down the northern side and lunched above Greendale Tarn.  We flirted with climbing Seatallan but after struggling through some boggy areas we returned to Greendale Tarn and followed the dramatic path down Greendale Gill back to the car.

After being in snow two days earlier it was delightful to feel the sun on our faces and for much of the ascent we removed our coats; a first for this trip.

Interesting item

Can you help?

We spotted this object in a field alongside the river Ehen. It is just over a metre high and there is no evidence of any fence or wall on either side.  Any suggestions as to its purpose would be appreciated.

 

Look out for my next blog when I climb to the second highest peak in England.

 

 

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Clive's Cumbrian Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

