Expect the Unexpected … Introducing Miss Ellie-Mae

As some of you know I write crime/thrillers.  I was happily working on my next book when one morning, something totally different appeared on the page.  If you are a non-author you may think I’ve literally lost the plot but the writing community will understand.

I’ve had a tiny idea simmering in the back of my mind for a while and had already sought permission from a special young lady to use her name in a short story I was contemplating and she had kindly agreed.

Well, that particular day as I sat at the laptop with my coffee and brioche, a story formed in its entirety and poured itself out all over theIMG_2993 page (thankfully the coffee didn’t join it and stayed in the mug).

After quite a bit of polishing and with a great deal of trepidation, I asked the young lady in question to see if she liked it.  I anticipated a:

  • ‘yes Auntie Julie it was great,’ or a
  • ‘no, Auntie Julie I’m sorry, I really didn’t.’

What I didn’t expect was a full critique, suggestions for improvements and correction of typos!

(extract: ‘you have captured my personality well but on page … paragraph … tears don’t well up in the throat, that would be a lump, tears prick the back of the eyes’) 

How could I ignore such clarity of thought and reasoning?  So without further hesitation and of course with permission from her parents, I invited Miss Ellie-Mae to join my team as children’s editorial advisor.  What better way to write stories for young people than to get a young person to judge them!

This story is now the fourth in my collection with the working title ‘Expect the Unexpected’ which I hope may be published next year.  Now back to the day job …

Stop Press: Miss Ellie-Mae has penned a 500 word short story and I hope she will agree to publish it on my blog soon!

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

