The 777 Challenge – Take II …

The 777 Challenge-02

Now I feel a bit of a fraud doing this again.  I accepted the 777 Challenge from the highly imaginative Riley Froud in October and now in December I’ve been challenged again by the equally amazing Nicolette Elzie!

So whilst my natural tendency towards fair play suggested I should pass the baton immediately, my rather selfish urge to thrust my current work-in-progress upon an otherwise unsuspecting world won through.

I did a paragraph about Riley (@rileyjfroud) last time but have added her contact details below as it’s well worth making a cup of tea and taking a look at her blog.

https://rileyjfroud.wordpress.com/

A paragraph about my (new) nominator Nicolette Elzie (@nicoletteelzie):

My name is Nicolette Elzie. I live in Albany, GA with my husband and our two little rascals. I’m a self-proclaimed nerd with an undying love for all things magical, mysterious and supernatural. When I’m not tucked in a corner of my house pouring over a good book or furiously typing on my computer to finally finish my manuscript, I can be found at Albany State University helping students work out their own struggles with writing.

So pop the kettle back on and step over to Nicolette’s beautifully presented blog.

Nicolette Elzie | A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly

So let’s run through the 777 rules again:

The taggee must go to the seventh page, to the seventh line, and share the next seven sentences of their latest work in progress or new book.  Then they must tag seven other authors to do the same.

I think I managed four last time, as a lot of the writers I follow had already contributed.  So this time my nominee will be a gentleman who is pretty new to blogging: Jeff Funnell (@jefffunnel1) who takes us into the world of Simon Blunt, a trainee broker at Lloyds of London.

https://jefffunnellcrimenovelist.wordpress.com/

A boring bit about me (which you can skip over, particularly if you read it last time)

I’m a former medical secretary/administrator and I live in West Sussex, England.  I walk a lot, write a lot and clean my house a lot (one of these three statements is untrue and I’ll let you decide which).

My first novel, Long Shadows, was published this year.  My second novel is a Victorian prequel entitled Evil Echoes and will make its debut next year.  After that will be Twisted Lives, from which I took the October extract.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Long-Shadows-Julie-Haiselden/dp/1849639884

If you’re reading this you’ve already found my blog but I’m also on Facebook and Twitter:

https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks

https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden

My Challenge – this time taken from Reasonable Doubt a thriller which is still in its infancy:

She did think about phoning ahead but didn’t want to be fobbed off with some sort of excuse; she decided the element of surprise would play in her favour.  After all, what could he say once she was standing on his doorstep?  Unfortunately she didn’t have his actual address but she was sure he wouldn’t be too hard to find in a small village community.  

Another hour and she would be there, hopefully ensconced as a house guest, albeit possibly a not altogether welcome one. She would also find out if her host was as accommodating in Cumbria as she had been in Devon. Who knew what possibilities might arise in the days and weeks to come?   She climbed back into her vehicle and put her foot on the accelerator.      

 

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The 777 Challenge – Take II …

  1. I loved it! I have so many questions and all of them sooo curious and good! I look forward to reading one day! Thanks for taking part in the challenge Julie! ❤️

    • jhbooksblog says:

      Thank you Nicolette, much appreciated. I must admit, Reasonable Doubt is flowing nicely so far. I absolutely love Helen, the character from the extract, she’s a terrible woman but so much fun to write!

      • I have a lot of fun writing morally ambiguous characters. They’re a lot of fun to write and I connect better with them than the straight edge ones. I don’t know what it is. But I’m also one to fall for a villain so I’m hardly one to talk. Lol.

  2. rileyjfroud says:

    Great lines! I’m intrigued…

  3. Pingback: Extract: Ed’s Eggs | Authordom, or There About

Leave a Reply

