Something for the CV …

So the day of the awards evening arrived!  I’m not sure why I was so terrified as the staff and students were very welcoming, such that my crippling nerves were miraculously replaced by an anaesthetised calm and all sorts of situational memories washed over me as I walked up the familiar steps to the stage at my old school.

I delivered my speech without fluffing my lines and handed out the IMG_20151104_203104678prizes without dropping any trophies or tripping over.   Also didn’t crush any of the students’ hands with a vice-like grip as a result of too much adrenaline, so unlikely to be sued.

Subsequently I’ve had very positive feedback and as my aunt said in her inimitable sage-like way: ‘Well at least it’s something for the CV, dear.’

You know she’s right!  All I could think beforehand was how do I get out of this?  Maybe feigning laryngitis or a sudden family illness?  In fact facing my fear showed me that there was nothing to actually be fearful of!  And yes, I can add it to my achievements.

So if anyone asks if I would do something similar again, then in the words of the UK ex-Labour Party leader:  ‘Hell Yes!’

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something for the CV …

  1. It’s great that you did it and faced your fear. You know, even if you had have made a mistake if you can laugh it off it’s all good. I mean look at Jennifer Lawrence she fell at an award ceremony and then did the same at the next one but just had to laugh it off!

Leave a Reply

