777 Challenge

I was tagged into the 777 Challenge by Riley J. Froud and readily agreed as it’s always easier to acquiesce than to decline an invitation.  Hence the huge number of gatherings I’ve attended over the years, only to realise my mistake as soon as I’m through the front door; however enough of my inadequacies.

My nominator:

Riley J. Froud is the pen-name of Vicky Froud. She started out writing serious stories until she realised that she just can’t keep a straight face and hence, a whole bunch of Underlings were born. She refuses to give up her day-job as a retail manager in a local charity shop, so she spends her days either digging through old clothes in the shop or digging through old ideas in her head.

Visit Riley J’s facebook page to see all the general nonsense she posts (her words not mine), or better yet, go to Amazon to buy her first novella, John Sharpe: No. 1,348 to get dragged through an eye-rolling, jaw-flapping, thigh-slapping world of magic and mayhem.

Now the 777 rules are:

The taggee must go to the seventh page, to the seventh line, and share the next seven sentences of their latest work in progress or new book.  Then they must tag seven other authors to do the same.

A boring bit about me (which you can skip over)

I’m a former medical secretary/administrator and I live in West Sussex, England.  I walk a lot, write a lot and clean my house a lot (one of these three statements is untrue and I’ll let you decide which).

My first novel, Long Shadows, was published this year.  My second novel is a Victorian prequel entitled Evil Echoes and will make its debut next year.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Long-Shadows-Julie-Haiselden/dp/1849639884

If you’re reading this you’ve already found my blog but I’m also on Facebook and Twitter:

My Challenge:

The extract below comes from Twisted Lives, which is my third book and my current work-in-progress.

It is the sequel to Long Shadows and we re-enter the lives of Lizzie Lockwood et al.  In the section below, the long-time barman at the Blenthorne Inn is observing Lizzie the owner, as she prepares to present a new project to the village in the hope of gaining acceptance and approval from her neighbours.

Lizzie was wearing her slim-fitting black ‘wedding-and-funeral’ dress as she called it;  that only came out when she was keen to make an impression. Bert knew next to nothing about ladies’ clothing but had always thought it suited her. Her long dark hair was piled up in a sort of bun thing and she wore a string of pearls around her neck.  She had put her stilettos on he noticed.  She didn’t need the height but maybe she thought they finished the outfit off. Clearly her image tonight was one of consummate businesswoman, so who was he to question the size of her heels; just as long as she didn’t fall off them and twist her ankle like last time.   

She banged a spoon against a tumbler when she was ready to start her presentation, he winced; no prizes for guessing who’d be clearing up shards of broken glass if she was more forceful than she intended, never mind his knees. 

Most of the authors I’m in touch with have already risen to this challenge so please consider yourself tagged if you’re reading this and haven’t yet taken part. 

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

