Books or eBooks?

I’ve been resisting technology for years.

I love the feel and smell of a book.  I love to turn the pages and flip back and forth.  I love going to the library and choosing my next read.  I love placing my bookmark back after each session to see how many pages I’ve read.  IMG_6985

However I can see the advantages of an electronic device.

It’s much smaller to pack and access to a chosen title is immediate.

I could change the type size and font instead of changing my glasses.

I could download books to read at my leisure instead of worrying about the date and potential library fine.

I wouldn’t need extra shelving.

So what’s holding me back?

Why does even thinking about it make me feel that I’m being unfaithful?  Will my books forgive me if I shove a new-fangled imposter in their midst?

I know I’ll do it eventually, just as one day I’ll discard my old mobile and get a touch screen phone with access to the Internet.

Maybe there’s room in my life for both books and eBooks?  If so, what sort of device do I get?

Too many decisions.  Back to my hardback novel …

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books or eBooks?

  1. rileyjfroud says:

    I don’t think you necessarily have to make a definitive decision. I read a bit of both – sometimes ‘real’ books and sometimes ebooks on my Kindle. You are right – they both have benefits and for me, there is room for both in my life. It completely depends on the book and on the situation.

    On thing’s for sure, I won’t be giving up my Kindle or my books any time soon!

  2. Terry Tyler says:

    I am completely converted to Kindle! I thought the same as you and everyone else, at first, but last December I had a reading month, my aim to read 20 books in a month because my to-read list was getting silly, and I crossed over to the ‘other side’! I read semi-lying in bed a lot of the time – the Kindle (well, iPad with Kindle app!) is easier to hold, lighter, can be propped up against things when eating/drying hair, etc, I can take 6 books away for a few days with no extra baggage, I can read when husband is asleep without having light on, the books are cheaper – if ever I’m offered a paperback now, I’d choose the Kindle version instead. The only thing is that I love bookshelves – I love seeing all the rows of books of my favourite authors lined up, I love the whole look of books, adore bookshops – but when it comes to actually reading them, I’ll take my e-reader any time.

  3. I loved the fact that my iPad was lit up so I could read in bed and that I could make the font bigger – what I was gutted about was after I finished The Night Circus I desperately wanted to pass it onto my bloke but couldn’t. Plus I loved the cover and would have had it facing out as I do with some books on my shelves. ebooks are great for travelling and commuting though.

  4. I use them both e-book is flexibility yet their is nothing like the feel of an old fashion book

Leave a Reply

