It’s Mince Right?

Today my Cataclysmic Cook blog was supposed to be a recipe for  meatballs.

https://twitter.com/mr_bcooks published a lovely photo a short time ago of meatballs, homemade pasta (I’m not going there) tomato sauce and home-harvested runner beans.  He confessed to buying his balls separately.  As I’ve been known to make the odd meatball, I promised to blog a quick and very easy recipe.

However as usual, things didn’t work out as anticipated.  Much like my characters refusing to behave when I’m writing, I looked at the mince but it wasn’t saying meatballs to me, it was shouting lasagne.   So here we go with a quick recipe.

I like dried lasagne verdi but today I used what I had in the cupboard which happened to be the plain sheets.

The meat sauce consisted of mince, onion, garlic, carrot, celery, tinned tomatoes, splash of ketchup, home-grown bay leaves, oregano, seasoning and a glug of white wine.  I fried off the chopped onion, garlic and carrot then added the other ingredients and let the mixture simmer for about forty minutes.

I normally do a cheese rather than béchamel sauce.  Once that was the right consistency, I combined the three components in an oblong dish as it’s easier to serve.  I do two layers of pasta, so that gives three layers of mince and cheese sauce.  In fact it’s an ideal dish to prepare in advance, so at this stage you can pop it in the fridge and bake it later.  I give it about an hour in a moderate oven until the top has browned.

Quantities aren’t my strong point so I guess.  I usually allow 500g of mince for four people, one 400g can of tomatoes, one large carrot and onion and adjust the other ingredients accordingly.  If I did measure things I wouldn’t have to make additional cheese sauce when I run out while covering the top layer but thankfully yesterday that didn’t happen.

This is my latest effort with a scattering of parmesan cheese on top.  I hadn’t got any saladIMG_6933 ingredients but after a rummage in the fridge,  found some cauliflower, broccoli and butternut squash and told Mr JH it was a medley.

He’s still slightly confused how his promised meatballs turned into lasagne but has long since learned not to dwell too much on what appears on his plate.

After all it’s mince right?

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

