The Curved Ball

Just when I’ve decided my genre is definitely untimely death, something from the not too distant past comes along and propels me from my comfort zone.  A chance read of one of my children’s stories by an illustrator has opened up a new horizon.  His son had enjoyed it and he asked why it had no pictures.

‘Can’t draw,’ I admitted honestly and demonstrated my lack of skill with pencil and paper, lest he thought I was being modest. IMG_6724

‘You’re right, you can’t,’ he observed candidly.  ‘But  I can.’

So at the most inconvenient time (36,000+ words into a thriller) suddenly life lobs a curved ball at me.  The question is, do I lob it back?  No chance – let the next adventure begin!

Spent Wednesday discussing possibilities for a new children’s character.  And I promise not to let him (or her) turn into a serial killer.  WTS

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Curved Ball

  1. Sara says:

    Sounds v exciting – although I have to agree, I don’t think a serial killing child is the way forward!!! Xx

Leave a Reply

