Behaving like an Author at a Book Signing

First official book signing – scary or what?

When my publisher got in touch my first reaction was whoopee!  My next was unprintable.  I looked on-line for advice on protocol and general sensible behaviour appropriate at such events.  Then decided to ask an expert.  I’m very lucky to be in touch with a best-selling author who is an old hand.  He gave me some very helpful tips and I hope I can remember them on Saturday.  He said he always takes his pooch with him as she attracts huge amounts of attention.  Sadly I don’t have one.  Would a seven month old child work the same magic?  What happens if said child suddenly decides he doesn’t want to be used as a sales tool and starts squawking?  Settled on taking the other half, affectionately known on Twitter as Mr JH – trust he won’t start misbehaving if he gets bored.

I’m also following the blog of a lovely author who mentioned this week that she had visited a bookshop recently and what11264895_10153328667034795_3520776449105219646_n[1] (2) a  great experience it was.  Do hope millions of people have read that – particularly if they live in or near East Grinstead in West Sussex!

So armed with advice and several copies of Long Shadows, I will venture where I haven’t been before – into the world of official book signing.  Will let you know how I get on.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Long-Shadows-Julie-Haiselden/dp/1849639884.

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Behaving like an Author at a Book Signing

  1. Good luck! I hope it goes well and you enjoy it 🙂 Looking forward to hearing how it goes…

Leave a Reply

