The Adventure Begins (novice novelist and budding blogger)

 IMG_5640

If you have read the first section before then please scroll down to  November 2013.  Hope everyone had a lovely day yesterday and Boxing Day dawns bright and peaceful in your world.

There are 599 words below, so it won’t take too long … pass me a ginger wine someone …

Diary Entry – September/October 2013

Ideas for novel established. Backdrop chosen.  Plot outline in place.  Characters formulating and evolving.

Action plan – complete project to get out of system.  Write manuscript, hide in file on laptop, get on with life.

Reason – sufficient novelists around and the good ones are really clever.

Fly-in-ointment – youngest child.  Finds out what unpredictable parent is furtively doing.  Decides this is a “good thing” and the mother-unit needs “encouragement and support”.  This takes form of demanding daily updates on progress and reading each chapter on completion before returning it with critique appended.  I tentatively protest.  Firmly put in my place.  Allegedly during his formative years, our interaction revolved around his lack of commitment to academic study and refusal to complete homework on time.   Better get on with it before he confiscates my telly (yes I know I did that but he was fourteen at the time). 

Unexpected complication – characters not behaving.  I’m the author, surely I should decide on their personality traits and actions?  Apparently not.

Diary Entry – November 2013

Naïve novice novelist thinks it’s okay to tell a friend or two about book project – after all, it’s never going to see the light of day.

While bending down inelegantly in the cereal aisle of the local supermarket searching for the correct muesli, a vaguely familiar voice from behind asks how the book is coming along.  Apparently it’s now common knowledge that the slightly strange secretary from the surgery has a penchant for scribbling.

During a visit to the dentist, the kindly clinician plucks a question from the ether: ‘So then Julie, how’s the novel progressing?’  As it feels like he has both hands in my mouth and several surgical instruments, I am unable to answer coherently and make a sort of pig noise.  ‘No, keep your mouth open wide,’ instructs the authoritative voice from behind the surgical mask.   So I gesticulate with my right hand but in a positive way.  At least I hope that’s how he interpreted it.   

Practise a series of useful answers to recurring questions to save time when cornered:

No, there’s no sex involved; I don’t know enough about erotica to write about it and even if I did, my children would be sick.  The novel falls within the crime thriller genre.  Yes, okay fair point, I’ve never actually committed a murder either.

I don’t know where ideas originate, they just pop into my head and some might say they should remain there.

Sorry, I don’t have the expertise to evaluate manuscripts.  If you’ve penned something, then best send it to a publisher.  It’s terribly flattering but please, put it away.

I don’t think there’s any right or wrong way to construct a story; there are probably as many techniques and devices as there are authors.  

I’ve never suffered from writer’s block.  When I do, I’ll stop scribbling until inspiration strikes again.  I’m sure if the oven needs cleaning, ideas (however feeble) will return.

Diary Entry – December 2013

Novel complete, have stopped tinkering with it (almost).  Hidden in file on laptop.

Youngest child protests.  Issues ultimatum.  Send work to publishers for feedback or he will.  Apparently there’s no hiding place on the laptop that he cannot find.  Never have liked him much.

 

Oh well, it’ll give the publisher a good laugh before Christmas. 

To be continued ….

@juliehaiselden

 IMG_6218

 

 

About jhbooksblog

Hello - I'm Julie Haiselden, an occasional NHS med sec/practice administrator. Mother of three, wife of one, a chaotic cook and published crime/thriller novelist who blogs a bit about books, life and food. School alumna. Occasional am-dram actress/director. I enjoy walking and photography (although my enthusiasm outweighs my skill set). I've recently joined the reviewing team at Whispering Stories and can be found via the following social media sites: http://whisperingstories.com/meet-the-team/ https://twitter.com/juliehaiselden https://www.facebook.com/juliehaiseldenbooks https://www.goodreads.com/ I also accept a few hard copy novels to review.
This entry was posted in Novel News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Adventure Begins (novice novelist and budding blogger)

  1. fiona says:

    Looking forward to hearing more about it and seeing the book when it’s published!

  2. Michael Coyne says:

    Can’t wait to read the book!

Leave a Reply

